Skip to main content

Board Elections

Notice of Election - Saturday - May 6, 2023

Voter ID Requirements
Voting ID Requirements in English
Voting ID Requirements in Spanish

Board Election Procedures
The Board of Trustees consists of seven members serving terms of three years with elections held annually. The election of board members is by Place in accordance with Texas law. Elections are held in May.

Internet Posting  Requirements for Political Subdivisions

Requirements for Candidacy
Requirements, Eligibility, and Deadline for Filing for Candidacy
To qualify as a candidate for the office of school board member, a person must be a resident of the district and a qualified voter in the election at which he or she is a candidate. For complete qualifications see Board Policy BBA.


Candidate Application Forms
An application for a place on the ballot must be submitted by the required deadline. 

There is no filing fee and no compensation for the office of School Trustee. The office sought is “School Trustee Place 1 and 2”  for a 3-year term. Any application that does not specify the Place on the Board of Trustees being sought will be deemed invalid.
Candidates may pick up a packet or request that one be mailed to them from the Liberty Hill Independent School District Administration Building at 301 Forrest Street, Liberty Hill. The application and other forms are also available online from the Secretary of State and State Ethics Commission websites (links are available below).

A drawing will be conducted at the LHISD Administration Building to determine the order by which names will appear on the official ballot. (The candidate’s name will appear on the ballot precisely as the candidate indicated in the appropriate space on the application for a place on the ballot). 


Candidates for the May 6, 2023, Board of Trustees Election:
Place 1 - Chris Neighbors, Brandon Canady, Cory Milam, Terry Smith
Place 2 - Kendall Carter, Antonio Canas


Official Results for May 6th, 2023 Board of Trustees Election

Place 1 - Chris Neighbors defeated Brandon Canady, Cory Milam, and incumbent Trustee Terry Smith with 33.95 percent of the vote.
Place 2 - Incumbent Trustee Kendall Carter defeated Antonio Canas with 80.06% of the vote. Neighbors and Carter were sworn in for 3-year terms on May 15.

LHISD Official Canvass

Notice of Drawing For Place On Ballot
Liberty Hill ISD Order of Regular Election
Polling Locations
Notice of Voting Order Priority
Notice of General Election

Williamson County Early Voting Schedule for May 6, 2023 Elections:
    Early Voting Locations
    Election Day Locations

For the most current early voting locations and Election Day polling sites,
please visit the Williamson County Elections website


Election Results
The declared winner(s) shall be duly sworn and seated on the Board of Trustees following the 
official canvass of the election.

Additional Information and Forms for candidates are available at the following links below:

The Texas Secretary of State Candidate Information webpage.

Texas Ethics Commission Local Non-Judicial Candidate/Officeholder Forms and Instructions.