Texas Compulsory Attendance
The Texas Education Code contains a section on compulsory attendance law.
The law requires that children attend school every day it is in session. The law amends student compulsory age from 6 to 19 years of age. The school attendance law also applies to voluntary enrollment of your child in prekindergarten or kindergarten before age 6 and any student 19 years. (§ 25.085)
The law states that it is the parent’s duty to monitor the student’s school attendance and require the student to attend school. If the parent fails to require the child to attend school as required by law, and the child has absences for the amount of time specified under Family Code 65.003(a): the parent commits an offense. (§ 25.093)
If a student is absent without excuse for ten or more days or parts of days within a six-month period in the same school year, the school shall refer the student to a truant court for truant conduct. (Family Code 65.003(a))
Accumulation of excessive absences in any high school course will delay your child in obtaining a Texas Driver’s License or participating in a Driver’s Education course until your child completes a semester with 90% attendance. (HB 5) 5. A student may not be given credit for a subject unless they have attended 90% of the classes for that year. (§ 25.092)
If you have any questoins regarding your child's attendance, please contact the campus attendance clerk or registar.